Funded Projects

The CTS initiates and supports a number of interdisciplinary projects. The following list showcases some of these endeavours.

 
AAL Best Practice Scoping Review

A Best Practice Scoping of curated national AAL studies in the last decade is created. The analysis aims at technological innovations being developed for fostering care, household and living sphere.

Best Practice Inter- & Transdisciplinary Teaching

The project explores successful interdisciplinary lectures being held at the CTS partner institutions. A Best Practice Library as way to inspire and foster orientation for all lecturers is being created, combining Social Science with Technological and Natural Sciences.

Bias in Automated Driving Systems (BADS)

Automated Driving Systems do about 100% more kilometers in simulation than in physical space. This raises questions about the quality of data sets and data records shaping the abilities of these driving systems. Currently there are about 40 accessible public data sets, which have already been briefly analyzed by the project researchers. This project aims at a systematic evaluation of this material at this early stage of technological development.

Big Data in Smart Cities © iStock/agsandrew

Big Data in Smart Cities

Big Data in Smart Cities

Urban Data Space (UDS) is envisioned to serve as the technological basis for Smart City projects in managing Big Data. Our project aims to assess this emerging technology in an interdisciplinary manner and build the basis for future research projects and technology development in the field. Data Space is a technology that creates a seamless exchange, storage and utilization of data with the scale that enables the development of new products and services based on data in urban environments. The technology is currently at the level of laboratory prototype, before deployment. In order to assess …

BioNoWo

Collection and circulation schemes in the context of the automobile industry, the area of Europallets, reuseable bottles and rental linen (textiles for hotels) are being analyzed and compared.

The requirements for packaging various goods (regional vs. transcontinental, large / unwieldy vs. small, perishable vs. long-lived, etc.) are being collected. Further research probes the potential use of fleeces to protect products in transit with minimal space requirements.

Interviews of stakeholders, including ARA or similar system providers, disposal companies, service providers in the area of rental …

Creating Digital Humanism

The goals of the projects are:

  1. The creation of interactive digital interventions in the context of public traffic (buses, commuter trains, tramways).
  2. The analysis of the emerging socio-cultural discursive spaces and their inter-dependencies is one main goal. By systematic interventions the project figures out how to influence public discourse.
  3. The creation of alternative interaction spaces through the above-mentioned interventions builds beyond the framework of Digital Humanism.
  4. The translation of discourses into knowledge is done to create and develop digital technologies with humanistic …
Digital Literacy in Robotics & Informatics – for underprivileged people

Robotics and computer science are not imaginable without digital competence. Both are a possible entry into the digital world and promote the development of digital competence. However, the question also needs to be asked as to which barriers arise in the digital world and how these can be overcome. To this end, a working group with interdisciplinary members from different partner universities will be constituted to make common barriers visible and propose improvements for gender-appropriate didactic concepts.

EnviSense

In this project, best-practice research is conducted to elaborate the state of the art of technology-supported awareness building in climate change, quality of public spaces and personal mobility. The project shows which low-threshold artifacts (e.g., environmental sensors) are available, how these artifacts are used, and how the data collected by them is made available for societal use. This is done with regard to raising awareness among the general public as well as for administration and government. Central aspects in this project are best practices that use or collect parameters and …

GenderFair MT

With an increased visibility of non-binary people, strategies to overcome gender bias in language beyond a binary conception (male/female) have been proposed, such as gender-inclusive (e.g. Leser*innen) and/or gender-neutral (e.g. Lesens) language. These developments raise interesting questions for language technologies, including machine translation. To address non-binary MT, we propose to organize a three-day participatory workshop to develop translation guidelines for non-binary language use with three communities: (1) members of the non-binary and queer community, (2) human translators, …

How 2 Summer School

Financed by CTS and Land Salzburg, Summer School 21 “Zukunftsland Lungau - Innovation, Gender Arrangements and the Rural Area” took place from 15th to 29th August 2021. Along with content-related learnings regarding these topics on a scientific and practical level, experience was gained on how to run a transdisciplinary and regional Summer School. These experiences, examples and references are to be compiled in a purposeful way within the scope of this project. The final product is a digital guide that will enable prospective transdisciplinary Summer School teams to save time, …

How 2 Summer School © Tomé Hauser

How 2 Summer School

iMentality

With the increasing digitalization of society and almost all areas of life, the scope of action, the role and the responsibility of computer scientists as experts and designers of these developments are also changing. While new technologies in science and the media are increasingly subject to critical and ethical reflections, the role of engineers in this development has still not been dealt with in detail. The project iMentality aims to fill exactly this gap and to deal with current role models and engineer-mentalities in an interdisciplinary way. For this purpose, philosophical foundations …

Innovation lab for digital inclusion (IDI)

The aim of this participatory research project is to address the issue of when, where and why ‘one-size-fits-all’ premises, i.e. the assumption that the same digital solutions could solve everyone’s challenges to inclusion, will reach limitations in an inclusive context. In terms of content, based on theoretical considerations on inclusion and digitization, taking into account various dimensions (including legal, economic, political), a practice-relevant model for inclusive digitization for different fields of application (e.g. including school or economy / labor market) will …

Lectures for Future 2nd level

“Lectures for Future” is an interdisciplinary series of lectures that started in the 2019 academic year and is already being offered at ten Austrian universities. In their commitment as Scientists for Future, researchers give insights into their scientific work on the climate crisis, the environment and society. The further development of the new, hybrid teaching and communication format is to be scientifically supported in the “Lectures for Future 2nd level” project. The aim is to examine the impact of the “Lectures for Future” on research and teaching and to work out parameters …

Mental, Social & Digital Resilience – Mental eHealth & Telepsychiatry

The Corona crisis is a worldwide crisis, and for a wide range of people a highly individual one. A personal Corona infection, but also the circumstances of the crisis – such as lockdown, precarious and unstable working conditions, individual anxieties, fears and mental load – all of this raises questions concerning psycho-social care and efficacy. Hopes are high for eHealth and mHealth solutions, as well as so-called “Mental Health” Apps, which App-Stores have been flooded with. Questions about their functionality, feasibility, their (therapeutic-/medical) efficacy, but also a lack of …

muco

The muco project is a proof-of-concept case study in the area of STEAM eduction, which combines STEM and the Arts. The aim of muco is to conceptualize, implement and evaluate an educational music computing web application that features a gamified digital learning environment. The resulting application is intended to be used in non-formal settings for self-directed learning. The goal of the project is to make programming concepts more accessible and comprehensible to a broader public: the developed application is intended to attract more interest and attention to the field of computer science, …

New Mobilities of post-traditional communities: P2P carsharing in rural and urban neighbourhoods

Shared mobility is considered as an important component of multimodal sustainable mobility to reduce dependency on individual car by offering users new options to fulfil their transportation needs. Carsharing in neighbourhoods might be a promising solution not only for urban areas, but also for less populated areas highly dependent on individual cars. To investigate the most important influencing factors and conditions which facilitate and boost the usage of P2P car sharing in neighbourhoods and motivate people to share their own private cars, we conduct a comparative study in Austria and …

Participation and Visibilty in Hybrid Realities

This transdisciplinary project explores how socio-technical realities are negotiated and (re)produced in digitally augmented public spaces.

Starting from questions of social participation and visibility, we design digital interventions in transient physical spaces that allow participants to explore both “layers” of data in terms of digital realities, as well as their mutual relations through them. In selected compartments of commuter trains, changing social groups of participants have the opportunity to interact through projections and use an augmented reality app to explore and …

Participation in the Digital Space

The project aims at the creation of participative digital platforms and artifacts which provide fair and non-selective access to digital spaces for all citizens independent of socio-economic background, demographics or other social-structural features.

Patient Documentation

The projects aims at multiple users with different needs and concerns (nurses vs. doctors vs. patients vs. families, etc.). The project aims to determine what role patient documentation takes and how it differs depending on stakeholder involvement. It designs alternative ways to provide access to information and documentation for every person in need of recent data.

Further Information

Blog post ‘Linked Care’

Podcast

SAVEing SPACES

The trans-disciplinary workshop series SAVEing SPACES sees itself as an activating, process-led project in the university’s research field. Students and teachers of architecture, planning, computer science, education and social work, supported by the Center for Technology and Society, dedicate themselves to the urgency: The new (non) normal at the university, to reflect and speculate on our practices, formats, tools and theories. How do we teach / learn? Why, where and when? Who with whom for whom and what?

Together we want to look at, document and actively shape the new (not) normal at …

Skill-Sharing

The thematic-content framework of the project is to explore ways in which youth and young adults with disabilities can be supported in passing on their skills. In doing so, the perception of one’s own digital competencies is to be built up and further developed in a strength-oriented manner, and these competencies are to be transmitted to other people who do not yet have them. In this way, the self-confidence, self-esteem and communication skills of the young people concerned should also be developed and support provided for career orientation. In the course of the research project, …

Summer School Countryside

The summer schools “Women Create Future in the Countryside” and “Mobile Women - What do they need?” focuses on the global trend of urbanization and defines the educational, research and technology development needs for rural areas. In a wide consortium, master thesis topics will be formulated and research funding shall be gained.

Tradition in Transformation: The Cultural Landscape of Cellar Lanes

The project explores the cultural landscape of the cellar lanes, their potential for future development and the options for long-term preservation as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Said aspects concern questions of the historical, social, cultural, ecological, economic and touristic importance of these forms of vernacular architecture as well as the technical possibilities in the area of innovative, transdisciplinary surveying methods (3D laser scanning, quadrocopter, radon measurement, soil analysis). The focus is placed on networking activities between various research disciplines as well as …

Geförderte Projekte

Das CTS initiiert und unterstützt zahlreiche interdisziplinäre Projekte. Im Folgenden finden Sie einen Auszug aktueller Vorhaben.

 
AAL Best Practice Scoping Review

Ein Best Practice Scoping zu kuratierten Projekten im Bereich nationale AAL Projekte wird entwickelt, das die Technologieentwicklung zur Förderung von Pflege, Wohnen im Wohnumfeld sowie Pflege und Betreuung im Blick hat.

Best Practice Inter- & Transdisziplinäre Lehre

Ziel dieses Projektes ist eine Erhebung bestehender erfolgreicher interdisziplinärer Lehrveranstaltungen an den Partnerhochschulen des CTS, um darauf aufbauend eine Best Practice Library als Inspiration und Orientierung für zukünftige interdisziplinäre Lehre aufzubauen. Besonderes Augenmerk sollen hier Kombinationen von Geistes-, Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen mit jenen der Technik- und Naturwissenschaften bekommen.

Bias in Automated Driving Systems (BADS)

Automatisierte Fahrsysteme legen heute rund einhundertmal mehr Kilometer in Simulationen zurück, als im physischen Raum der Straße. Dies wirft die Frage nach der Beschaffenheit der Datensätze auf, die als Lernumfeld die Fähigkeiten der Fahrsysteme prägen. Aktuell sind etwa 40 öffentlich zugängliche Testdatensätze bekannt, die von den AntragsstellerInnen bereits überblicksmäßig ausgewertet wurden. Es geht um eine systematische Auswertung des Datenmaterials zu diesem frühen Zeitpunkt der Technologieentwicklung.

Big Data in Smart Cities © iStock/agsandrew

Big Data in Smart Cities

Big Data in Smart Cities

Urban Data Space (UDS) soll in Zukunft die technologische Basis für Smart City Projekte darstellen, um das Management von Daten in großem Maßstab zu bewerkstelligen. Unser Projekt zielt darauf ab, diese neue Technologie interdisziplinär zu analysieren und eine Grundlage für zukünftige Forschung und Entwicklung in dem Gebiet zu schaffen. Data Space ist eine Technologie, die einen nahtlosen Datenaustausch, Datenspeicherung und Nutzung von Daten in einem solchen Ausmaß schafft, dass die Entwicklung von neuen Produkten und Services basierend auf Daten im urbanen Umfeld ermöglicht wird. Die UDS …

BioNoWo

Sammel- und Kreislaufschemata aus der Automobilindustrie, dem Bereich der Europaletten, der Mehrweggetränkeflaschen und der Mietwäsche (Textilien für Hotels) werden analysiert und verglichen.

Die Anforderungen an das Verpacken unterschiedlicher Güter (regional vs. transkontinental, groß/sperrig vs. klein, verderblich vs. langlebig, etc) werden erhoben und erforscht, wie Vliese hier eingesetzt werden können, um die Produkte bei minimalem Raumbedarf bestmöglich zu schützen.

Stakeholderbefragungen sind vorgesehen (ARA und vergleichbare Systemanbieter, Entsorger, Dienstleister im Bereich …

Creating Digital Humanism

Das Projekt verfolgt folgende Ziele:

  1. Die Gestaltung von interaktiven digitalen Interventionen im Kontext des öffentlichen Verkehrs (Pendlerstrecke, Überlandbus, Straßenbahn)
  2. Die Erforschung der entstehenden soziokulturellen Verhandlungsräume durch gezielte Interventionen und deren Wechselwirkungen auf Diskurse.
  3. Die Schaffung von alternativen Interaktionsräumen durch diese Interventionen, die Sichtbarkeit, Teilhabe und Machstrukturen in digitalen Gesellschaften im Sinne eines Digitalen Humanismus be- und verhandelt
  4. Die Um- und Übersetzung dieser Diskurse in Wissen um die Gestaltung und …
Digital Literacy in Robotics & Informatics – for underprivileged people

Robotik und Informatik sind ohne digitale Kompetenz nicht denkbar. Beide sind ein möglicher Einstieg in die digitale Welt und fördern die Entwicklung der digitalen Kompetenz. Es stellt sich aber auch die Frage, welche Barrieren im digitalen Raum entstehen und wie diese überwunden werden können. Dazu wird eine Arbeitsgruppe mit interdisziplinären Mitgliedern aus unterschiedlichen Partneruniversitäten gegründet, die gemeinsame Barrieren sichtbar machen und Verbesserungen für gendergerechte didaktische Konzepte vorschlagen.

EnviSense

Im Rahmen des Projektvorhabens werden nationale und internationale Best Practices im Sinne einer State of the Art Recherche zum Thema technologisch unterstützter Bewusstseinsbildung in den Bereichen Klimawandel, Qualität des öffentlichen Raums und Mobilität gesammelt und aufgearbeitet. Es wird dargestellt inwiefern niederschwellig einzusetzende technische Artefakte (z.B. kleine Umweltsensoren) verfügbar sind, wie diese aktuell eingesetzt werden und inwiefern die Daten solcher Artefakte für die gesamtgesellschaftliche Nutzung aufbereitet und zugänglich gemacht werden. Dies erfolgt im Hinblick …

GenderFair MT

Mit zunehmender Sichtbarkeit nicht-binärer Menschen wurden Strategien zur Überwindung von Gender Bias in der Sprache jenseits eines binären Konzepts (männlich/weiblich) vorgeschlagen, wie etwa geschlechterinklusive (z. B. Leser*innen) und/oder geschlechtsneutrale Sprache (z. B. Lesens). Diese Entwicklungen werfen interessante Fragen für Sprachtechnologien auf, einschließlich der maschinellen Übersetzung. Um nicht-binäre MÜ zu ermöglichen, schlagen wir vor, einen dreitägigen partizipativen Workshop zu organisieren, in welchem Übersetzungsrichtlinien für den nicht-binären Sprachgebrauch mit drei …

How 2 Summer School

Die vom CTS und dem Land Salzburg finanzierte Summer School “Zukunftsland Lungau - Innovation, Geschlechterarrangements und der Ländliche Raum” fand von 15.-29.8.2021 statt (www.zukunftsland.net). Neben den inhaltlichen Learnings und dem Wissenszuwachs zu den Themen auf wissenschaftlicher und praktischer Ebene, wurden im Laufe der Vorbereitung und Durchführung zahlreiche Erfahrungen zur Abwicklung einer transdisziplinären und regionalen Summer School gesammelt. Diese Erfahrungen, Beispiele und Vorlagen sollen im Rahmen dieses Projekts gezielt aufgearbeitet werden. Das Endprodukt …

How 2 Summer School © Tomé Hauser

How 2 Summer School

iMentality

Mit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung der Gesellschaft und nahezu aller Lebensbereiche verändert sich auch der Handlungsspielraum, die Rolle und die Verantwortung von Informatiker*innen als Expert*innen und Designer*innen dieser Entwicklungen. Während neue Technologien in der Wissenschaft und den Medien durchaus verstärkt kritisch-ethische Reflexionen erfahren, bleibt die Rolle der Ingenieur*innen in dieser Entwicklung nach wie vor wenig bearbeitet. Das Projekt iMentality möchte genau diese Lücke füllen und sich interdisziplinär mit aktuellen Rollenbildern und Ingenieursmentalitäten …

Innovationslabor für digitale Inklusion (IDI)

Ziel dieses partizipativen Forschungsprojekts ist die Auseinandersetzung mit der Frage, wann, wo und weshalb ‚one-size-fits-all’ Prämissen, also die Annahme, dass dieselben digitalen Lösungen die Probleme aller Menschen lösen könnten, bei einer inklusiven Ausgestaltung an ihre Grenzen stößt. Inhaltlich wird ausgehend von theoretischen Überlegungen zu Inklusion und Digitalisierung unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Dimensionen (u.a. rechtliche, wirtschaftliche, politische) ein praxisrelevantes Modell für inklusive Digitalisierung für unterschiedliche Anwendungsfelder (z.b. inklusive Schule …

Lectures for Future 2nd level

“Lectures for Future” ist eine im Studienjahr 2019 gestartete interdisziplinäre Vortragsreihe, die bereits an zehn österreichischen Hochschulen angeboten wird. Forschende geben hier in ihrem Engagement als Scientists for Future Einblicke in ihre wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zu Klimakrise, Umwelt und Gesellschaft. Die Weiterentwicklung des neuartigen, hybriden Lehr- und Vermittlungsformates soll im Projekt «Lectures for Future 2nd level» wissenschaftlich begleitet werden. Ziel ist es, den Impact der «Lectures for Future» für Forschung und Lehre zu untersuchen sowie Parameter für …

Mental, Social & Digital Resilience – Mental eHealth & Telepsychiatry

Die Corona-Krise ist eine weltweite, für viele Personen eine höchstindividuelle Krise. Eine Covid-Erkrankung, aber auch die Umstände der Krise – Lockdown, Isolation, prekäre Arbeits- und Lebensverhältnisse, individuelle Ängste und mentale Last – rücken die Frage nach kritischer psychosozialer Versorgungsleistung und -wirksamkeiten in den Fokus. Große Hoffnungen werden in eHealth- und mHealth-Lösungen gesetzt. Sogenannte „Mental Health Apps“ fluten die App-Stores. Deren Funktionalität, (therapeutisch-medizinische) Effizienz, aber auch fehlende Standards und praxisorientierter Entwicklung im …

muco

Das Projekt muco ist eine Machbarkeitsstudie im Bereich MINKT – die Kombination aus MINT und Kunst –, in dessen Rahmen eine musikalische Programmier-Lernapplikation konzeptioniert, implementiert und evaluiert wird. Die Applikation ist für selbstständiges Lernen abseits des formalen Unterrichts gedacht. Das Ziel der implementierten Lernapplikation besteht darin, programmiertechnische Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten in einer musikalisch orientierten Entwicklungs- und Lernumgebung zu vermitteln. Die Lerninhalte sind dabei so konzipiert, dass weder Vorkenntnisse aus der Informatik noch aus der Musik …

Neue Mobilität in post-traditionellen Gemeinschaften: P2P Carsharing in ländlichen und urbanen Kontexten

Carsharing gilt als wichtiger Baustein einer multimodalen nachhaltigen Mobilität und als Hoffnungsträger privaten Pkw-Besitz zu reduzieren. Carsharing könnte eine vielversprechende Lösung sein, nicht nur für Städtische Gebieten sondern auch für ländliche Räume, die sehr stark vom Individualverkehr geprägt sind. Unser Projekt zielt darauf ab, die Beeinflussung des P2P-Carsharings in verschiedenen Nachbarschaften zu untersuchen und dabei wesentliche Unterschiede in der Wahrnehmung derjenigen, die P2P-Carsharing anbieten/nutzen, mit denen, die es nicht anbieten/nutzen, zu identifizieren. Zu …

Partizipation in digitalen Räumen

Alternative digitale IT auf dafür gesondert geschaffenen Plattformen sowie variierende Interaktionsmöglichkeiten bzw. auf Participative Design beruhende IT-basierte Artefakte setzen an diesem Problem an und erhöhen die räumliche Identifikation von Bürger_innen quer zu Milieus, demographischen Gruppen und sozialgeographischen Clusters.

Partizipation und Sichtbarkeit in hybriden Realitäten

Dieses transdisziplinäre Projekt untersucht, wie sozio-technische Realitäten in digital erweiterten öffentlichen Räumen verhandelt und (re-)produziert werden. Ausgehend von Fragen der sozialen Partizipation und Sichtbarkeit gestalten wir digitale Interventionen in transienten physischen Räumen, die es den Teilnehmer*innen ermöglichen, mittels der Erkundung von „Datenschichten“ digitale Realitäten sowie – durch diese vermittelt – ihre wechselseitigen Beziehungen zu erkunden. In ausgewählten Abteilen von Pendlerzügen haben fluktuierende soziale Gruppen von Passagieren die Möglichkeit mittels …

Patientendokumentation

Das Projekt nimmt die an den Schnittstellen zwischen Krankenhaus und Nachsorge- sowie Therapieeinrichtungen auftretenden Kommunikationserfordernisse in den Blick und fokussiert die Bedürfnisse, Vorstellungen und Erfordernisse (“Self Care”) von Betroffenen, Angehörigen und Pflegenden.

Weitere Informationen

Ergänzende Folgeseite

Ergänzender Podcast

SAVEing SPACES

Die trans-disziplinäre Workshop-Reihe SAVEing SPACES versteht sich als aktivierendes, Prozess geleitetes Projekt im Forschungsfeld der Hochschule. Studierende und Lehrende der Architektur, Planung, Informatik, Bildung und Soziale Arbeit widmen sich, unterstützt durch das Center for Technology and Society, der Dringlichkeit: Das neue (nicht) Normal an der Hochschule, unsere Praktiken, Formate, Werkzeuge und Theorien zu reflektieren und zu spekulieren. Wie lehren/lernen wir? Warum, Wo und Wann? Wer mit Wem für Wen und Was?

Wir wollen gemeinsam das neue (nicht) Normal an der Hochschule …

Skill-Sharing

Der thematisch-inhaltliche Rahmen des Projekts besteht darin, Möglichkeiten zu erforschen, wie Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene mit Behinderung in der Weitergabe Ihrer Fähigkeiten unterstützt werden können. Dabei soll die Wahrnehmung der eigenen digitalen Kompetenzen stärkenorientiert aufgebaut, weiterentwickelt und diese Kompetenzen an andere Personen übermittelt werden, die diese noch nicht haben. Auf diese Weise sollen auch Selbstbewusstsein, Selbstwert und Kommunikationskompetenzen der betroffenen Jugendlichen ausgebaut werden sowie eine Unterstützung bei der Berufsorientierung geboten …

Summer School Countryside

Die Summer School „Frau macht Zukunft – Techniker_innen am Land“ und „Frauen – mobil: was brauchen sie?" nimmt den globalen Trend der Urbanisierung in den Blick und exploriert Grundlagen sowie definiert den Bildungs-, Forschungs- und Technologieentwicklungsbedarf für ländliche Regionen. Hierzu werden im Verbund mit internationalen Partner_innen transdisziplinär Masterarbeitsthemen ausgeschrieben, und es können auch Forschungsfinanzierungen eingeworben werden.

Tradition und Transformation: Zur Kulturlandschaft der Kellergassen

Im Zentrum des Projekts steht die Auseinandersetzung mit der Kulturlandschaft der Kellergassen, mit deren Entwicklungspotential und mit den Optionen einer langfristigen Bewahrung als UNESCO Weltkulturerbe. Behandelt werden sowohl Fragen der historischen, sozialen, kulturellen, ökologischen, wirtschaftlichen und touristischen Bedeutung dieser vernakulären Bauformen als auch der technischen Möglichkeiten im Bereich der innovativen, disziplinenübergreifender Mess- und Analysemethoden (3D-Laserscanning, Quadrokopter, Radonmessung, Bodenanalyse). Der Fokus liegt auf der Vernetzung der einzelnen …